Reality Ranch Military Camp

Posted on March 27, 2009. Filed under: Reality Ranch Military Camp, View All Blog Postings | Tags: , , , |

While I enjoy blogging, I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you a little bit more about my summer camp, and what we’re all about.

I am the proud owner of Reality Ranch, a military summer camp for boys. I have been operating this program since 1999, and have done so successfully with with great support from my camp families and my community. It used to be a co-ed military camp, until the ratios of boys to girls became so tilted that it made sense to cater to boys exclusively. In my experience, pre-teen and teen boys seem to gain the most out of Reality Ranch. The camaraderie and esprit-de-corps that develops helps keep the recruits motivated and working hard.

One of the things that I love the most about my camp, is keeping in touch with the recruits after they return home. It’s so great to speak to the parents and hear how their children are doing since their return. I love to hear that they are in better physical health, doing better in school and treating their parents and siblings with respect, as they always should have done. I also enjoy hearing from recruits. I have even received a phone call from a soldier in Iraq, who used to be one of my recruits! I was so honored that he used his morale call to call and talk to me. He told me that he was calling to thank me for making a difference in his life. I told him that I couldn’t take the credit, and that he chose to make a difference in his own future, and that he would continue to reap the benefits for the rest of his life.

I often get calls from parents wanting their “troubled teen” to attend my program. I feel that there is no such thing as a troubled teen; they are children that are misguided and need motivation that will affect them enough to make changes. They have to want to make changes in their lives, in their ways of thinking and in their goals in order to become successful. Sometimes, the way the parents handle their child is a contributing factor to the behavior that they are witnessing. I am always glad to give my ranch parents tips and pointers to help them parent more effectively, while we give their child a “make over” from the inside out, here at Reality Ranch.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...